The Rotary Club of the South Cotswolds
The Rotary Club of the South Cotswolds

Rotary District 1100 Boules Competition

The Captain of RCSC 'B' Team hands over the Trophy to the Captain of RCSC 'A' Team

South Cotswolds Rotary won the District boules festival in 2013 for the third time – only this time it was the ‘A’ team which won


The District Festival of Boules was held on Saturday 28th September at the Red Bull, Malmesbury. 12 teams took part, being the 8 Divisional winners plus the top four runners up. There was a random draw to establish the order of play.


In the singles competition, Peter Sheppard, captain of our B Team, beat Robert Collis of Royal Wootton Bassett & District 13-9 whilst Doug Hughes, captain of the A Team, beat the singleton from the Royal Forest of Dean A Team 13-10. The triples saw the longest game of the day, of more than one and a half hours, when our A Team (Peter Wyman, David Britten and Andrew Lloyd) took on a strong team from Royal Wootton Bassett & District. We lost that one 10-13. The B Team (Nigel Gilhead, David Holborow and Antony St. John Smith) lost to North Cotswolds 4-13.


In the first round of the doubles, the Club did much better, winning all four games. The A Team beat North Cotswolds 13-11 and Gloucester Authority (13-0) whilst the B Team beat Gloucester Authority 13-6 and Gloucester Severn Trows 13-7.


In the final round, the A Team beat Gloucester Severn Trows 13-10, and the B team beat the Royal Forest of Dean B Team 13-8. The remaining match was between South Cotswolds A & B which the A Team won by 13-5. We were not aware of it at the time but it was this match that decided the outcome of the Festival, as this win gave the A Team 5 wins, the only team to have this number. The B Team was runner up with 4 wins, just one point in front of third place Stroud.


Due to the generosity of the teams in bringing raffle prizes and then buying tickets to win them back again, we raised £250 for the charity Munday's Mission.

The victorious RCSC 'A' Team: David Britten, Doug Hughes, Peter Wyman and Andrew Lloyd